Home » India » Ex-BJP MP Babul Supriyo among 9 ministers sworn in the Mamata Banerjee cabinet

Ex-BJP MP Babul Supriyo among 9 ministers sworn in the Mamata Banerjee cabinet

EX-BJP MP Babul Supriyo took oath today in the Mamata Banerjee's Cabinet.


Babul Supriyo took oath today on August 3, 2022, days after the arrest of CM Mamata Banerjee’s right hand MP Parth Chatterjee in a money laundering case. Huge amount of cash recovered from Parth Chatterjee’s close aide Arpita Mukherjee.


West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee added 9 new faces to her cabinet. Among the new faces Babul Supruyo, former Union minister and BJP leader has joined her team. Apart from 1. Babul, there are 8 more ministers who take oath; 2. Snehasis Chakraborty 3. Partha Bhowmick 4. Udayan Guha 5. Pradip Mazumder 6. Tajmul Hossain 7. Satyajit Barman 8. Birbaha Hansda 9. Biplab Roy Chowdhury.

Among all these 9 new faces the biggest name is Babul Supriyo, a former Union minister of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Ex-BJP Babul Supriyo after getting defeated in the 2021 Assembly elections, had announced that he will stay out of politics and also resign from Lok Sabha MP. But, later he joined the TMC in the presence of Abhishek Banerjee and elected as the MLA of Ballygunj

Birbaha Hansda and Biplab Roychowdhury became Minister of State with independent charge. Birbaha Hansda, the MLA of Jhargram has taken oath in Santhal language. In future he will be the face of the Santhal community in the TMC cabinet.

Snehashish Chakraborty isTMC’s state spokesperson, and responsible to handle the party unit in Hooghly.  Partha Bhowmik is a three-term MLA from the Naihati Assembly seat and Udayan Guha, who joined TMC in 2016, was a Forward Bloc leader.

Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee said the no. of districts in West Bengal has increased from 23 to 30. So, there will be an increase in workload. She also said “We lost ministers like; Subrata Mukherjee, Sadhan Pande. So, it is not possible for me to handle alone”.

About the Author